S2 #3 – Teach Me Truth

Thank you for reading this Devotional with an open and seeking heart.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Teach Me Your Truth
© 2012 Michele Vidor Krile

Lord, I call upon You
God, hear my plea
Teach my eyes
To see like You
Set them free
So that my worldview
Fades completely out
Since how You see
Is what life’s really about

Lord, I seek your truth and not the world’s
Help me then to understand
How to walk in Truth
And to never doubt Your loving hands

Lord, clear my mind
From the confusion of
Being misaligned
Heal my ears
From believing Satan’s lies
All these years
That I may hear the Holy Spirit
Speaking truth into my life

May your truth break me,
Then break my chains
As I walk in You,
By your power set me free!

Keep me, Lord,
Keep me in Your Truth, in Your Word
That I might live out what I’ve read and heard
So that I can better serve You
Bless others, and glorify Your holy Name

~  .  ~  .  ~  . ~  .  ~  .  ~  . ~  .  ~  .  ~  . ~  .  ~  .  ~  . ~  .  ~  .  ~

If you are currently taking the full study, let this remind you and reinforce what you learned about our truth/ human perception and God’s truth. For those who know nothing about this study, please let this simple verse be your prayer to seek God’s ultimate, unchanging truth. For we know our own sense of truth is changing, and often skewed by experience and believing lies that are all around us. Please glean truth from God’s Word. Listen for the “still, small voice” of the Holy Spirit dropping Truth into your spirit. “…and the Truth will set you free.”

John 8: 31 To the Jews who had believed him, Jesus said, “If you hold to my teaching, you are really my disciples. 32 Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.” 33 They answered him, “We are Abraham’s descendants and have never been slaves of anyone. How can you say that we shall be set free?” 34 Jesus replied, “I tell you the truth, everyone who sins is a slave to sin. 35Now a slave has no permanent place in the family, but a son belongs to it forever. 36 So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed. (NIV)

When you feel down, or self-conscious, lonely or unloved, frustrated, discouraged, betrayed, or offended, remember you are seeing yourself and your situation through your eyes. Your truth is most likely mixed with some half truths and lies. Seek to correct your human vision! Oh what freedom it is to see through God’s eyes! We start that by remembering that Jesus loves us unconditionally, freely, unselfishly. John 3:16, the verse we all know so well, tells us the truth that God so loves us all that he sacrificed His Son to set us free! That is serious truth! But let us never become so familiar with the truths we’ve learned in the Bible that we take it for granted or lose the focus of it all: We are lost and weak and in bondage on our own. We can only know the truth and can only be set free when we come to know, surrender all to and serve the Author of truth. In turn He transforms our worldview with His Heavenly view. Perhaps we need a prescription for 2 passages of God’s truth, and seek Him in the morning!

“Let His truth spur us to action, so that deception cannot become a distraction; let our freedom in Him give us our passion!” MVK

Be free in the Lord today!
Your sister in Christ,
Michele Krile

~  .  ~  .  ~  . ~  .  ~  .  ~  . ~  .  ~  .  ~  . ~  .  ~  .  ~  . ~  .  ~  .  ~

Scripture Reading – Two passages of God’s truth

1 John 3:18-24   18 Dear children, let us not love with words or tongue but with actions and in truth. 19 This then is how we know that we belong to the truth, and how we set our hearts at rest in his presence 20 whenever our hearts condemn us. For God is greater than our hearts, and he knows everything.21 Dear friends, if our hearts do not condemn us, we have confidence before God 22 and receive from him anything we ask, because we obey his commands and do what pleases him. 23 And this is his command: to believe in the name of his Son, Jesus Christ, and to love one another as he commanded us. 24 Those who obey his commands live in him, and he in them. And this is how we know that he lives in us: We know it by the Spirit he gave us. NIV

Psalm 51:1-13   1 Have mercy on me, O God, according to your unfailing love; according to your great compassion blot out my transgressions. 2 Wash away all my iniquity and cleanse me from my sin.3 For I know my transgressions, and my sin is always before me. 4 Against you, you only, have I sinned and done what is evil in your sight, so that you are proved right when you speak and justified when you judge. 5 Surely I was sinful at birth, sinful from the time my mother conceived me. 6 Surely you desire truth in the inner parts; you teach me wisdom in the inmost place. 7Cleanse me with hyssop, and I will be clean; wash me, and I will be whiter than snow. 8 Let me hear joy and gladness; let the bones you have crushed rejoice. 9 Hide your face from my sins and blot out all my iniquity. 10 Create in me a pure heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me. 11 Do not cast me from your presence or take your Holy Spirit from me. 12 Restore to me the joy of your salvation and grant me a willing spirit, to sustain me. 13 Then I will teach transgressors your ways, and sinners will turn back to you.

http://www.biblestudytools.com)

Leave a Reply

